18 Republican Lawmakers Say Donald Trump Deserves A Nobel Peace Prize

18 Republicans from the House of Representatives are campaigning for President Donald Trump to receive a Nobel Peace Prize.

After North Korea announced that its working along with South Korea for an end to the war between the two countries, many people were amazed. Even more were surprised when North Korea shared that it will stop its nuclear testing.

During the heat of the conversation, many pointed their fingers towards Donald Trump and stated that he was the cause of these new revelations. One of the reasons for this is that Trump’s new Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, met with North Korean leader Kim Jong Un secretly three weeks ago.  

That said, many are also pointing out that the collapse of North Korea’s nuclear test site probably had some influence on North Korea’s announcements.

Despite that last note, several Republican lawmakers are pushing for Trump to be nominated for a Nobel Peace Prize. 18 House Reps from the Republican party have joined together to nominate Trump for the prize.

“Although North Korea has evaded demands from the international community to cease its aggression for decades, President Trump’s peace through strength policies are working and bringing peace to the Korean peninsula,” write the lawmakers in their nomination letter. “We can think of no one more deserving of the Committee’s recognition in 2019 than President Trump for his tireless work to bring peace to our world.”

Leading the charge of the nomination is Rep Luke Messer from Indiana, who has something to gain from Trump’s nomination.

Messer is preparing for a big primary this coming Tuesday. He’s trying to become the GOP nominee for a spot in the U.S. Senate. If he wins, he will then face Democratic Senator Joe Donnelly for the position in November.

Republicans vying for the GOP nomination have been trying to appease to Trump supporters, and Messer’s pursuit of a Nobel Peace Prize for Trump may be the extra push he needs to win.

We’ll see if Messer and Trump win or lose their respective races.